Lovin' it - Reisverslag uit Queen Creek, Verenigde Staten van Céline Boute - WaarBenJij.nu Lovin' it - Reisverslag uit Queen Creek, Verenigde Staten van Céline Boute - WaarBenJij.nu

Lovin' it

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Céline

03 Maart 2014 | Verenigde Staten, Queen Creek

Where to start?
It is almost 2 months ago since my last one and there is always something going on in my american life!

January, the first month of a new semester in 2014. The girl from south korea moved to her new family after 2 weeks staying with my family. It is always crazy but also a lot of fun when different exchange students are staying with us for a little while because I am learning a lot from all the different cultures. My host mom and dad went to New Orleans for a couple of days to go to an IEC meeting. Our host grandpa, from dad's side, stayed with us and we had a lot of fun! we went to the 'Lost Dutchman mine' and while we were there we went horseback riding in the arizona desert! I felt like a cowgirl doing that :)
I also had a get together at my RC's house, where my Dutch friend Laura lives. But there was a funny surprise waiting for me because our Dutch coordinator was there from the Holland EF office. It was a lot of fun seeing her there but it is so weird to talk in dutch now, I can't imagine going home and talking dutch again it is so crazy.

February, finally a new sports season. I have been waiting for this forever because I did not made the team for soccer in winter season. But now I can do sports again. I was planning on doing Tennis, but I thought it was more fun to try something new because I already played tennis when I was younger. So I tried out for Track! The track group is so big but this makes it a lot of fun because I am meeting a lot of new people in my school. I'm doing the events: throwing and short distance (sprints). We have practice every day after school, which is a lot but I think it is nice to have a work out every day.
In AZ there is one big religion, mormons. The temple that they were building was opened this month and they have a couple of weeks when everyone can come in and look inside the temple even though you are not mormon. I went with my friends, one is mormon and it was beautiful to see the inside. I learned a lot about it and the experience was awesome because there are not a lot of opportunities that you can go inside.

My norwegian brother, who lived with my family last year came to visit again! It was a lot of fun seeing him and we all had a great time spending time with him. He came on the day of the wedding of a good friend from my host mom. The wedding was beautiful and I loved being there because it was the first wedding I have ever been to.
We went to the movie theater and out to eat, we saw That Awkward moment and Frozen.
Also, they have a festival every year around Phoenix that is called: The Renaissance Festival. There are a lot of crazy people that go there but we had fun making fun of them :)
And it was great how they build a little town like you are actually in a renaissance place.

It is just weird to think about going home and receiving emails about flight information. Time is going way too fast and there is only 3 months left. But I love every day I am here and it is truly an amazing year.
In one week I have Spring Break, so that is going to be great as well.

Big American hugs to everyone.

  • 05 Maart 2014 - 23:28

    A.Wagemakers:

    Lieve Céline,
    Leuk om te horen dat het goed met je gaat,en met veel verschillende culturen in contact te komen en ook
    leuke dingen te doen.En dat de bruiloft voor jou ook een belevenis was.Maar vergeet niet jou moeders
    taal wand dan hebben we van de zomer een probleem ha ha ha.
    Opa.

    Lieve Céline,
    Ook van mij heel veel succes met alles en geniet ook zeker van de leuke dingen.
    Met een dikke zoen van Oma en Opa.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigde Staten, Queen Creek

My High School year

Hi everyone,

Dit is de eerste pagina in mijn digitale dagboek en waarschijnlijk ook
gelijk de laatste in het nederlands.
Het is bijna zover, dinsdag de 23e van juli ga ik voor ongeveer 11 maanden naar een Amerikaanse High School in de staat Arizona.

Allereerst ga ik 10 dagen naar Norwich camp in Vermont, ongeveer 3 uur rijden van Boston. Dit is een kamp waar de exchange students van over de hele wereld, die ook met de organisatie EF gaan, elkaar kunnen leren kennen. Hier bereiden wij ons alvast een beetje voor op het jaar wat ons allemaal staat te wachten.

Vervolgens zal ik de 3e van Augustus reizen naar mijn hostfamily in Queen Creek, Arizona. Ik heb ontzettend veel zin om mijn gastgezin te ontmoeten waar ik nu al ongeveer een half jaar contact mee heb. Het gezin bestaat uit de ouders, beide nog jong, en 3 kinderen. Ze hebben 2 jongens en een meisje.
Ik zal naar Queen Creek High gaan en ben erg benieuwd hoe alles op een Amerikaanse school is. Natuurlijk denk je als eerst aan de football teams, cheerleaders, grote 'kluisjes' en eten op school zoals in alle films weer terugkomt, maar of dit ook echt allemaal op die manier zo is? Jullie krijgen het zeker van mij te horen :)

Ik ben echt ontzettend zenuwachtig, mijn allereerste grote reis, ver en alleen. Mijn familie, vrienden en vriendinnetjes zal ik erg gaan missen. Maar ik zal er een levenervaring aan overhouden dus ik heb er ook erg veel zin in!

Tot mijn volgende verslag vanuit de United States,
Hugs

Recente Reisverslagen:

03 Maart 2014

Lovin' it

05 Januari 2014

month of the holidays

04 December 2013

November, thanksgiving month

31 Oktober 2013

October

02 Oktober 2013

'MERICA
Céline

My name is Céline, a dutch girl. I'll spent the year 2013-2014 in the U.S. I was born in Rotterdam but now I live in Barendrecht. But my new hometown is Queen Creek in Arizona.

Actief sinds 19 Juli 2013
Verslag gelezen: 1657
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6424

Voorgaande reizen:

23 Juli 2013 - 01 Juni 2014

My High School year

Landen bezocht: