month of the holidays - Reisverslag uit Queen Creek, Verenigde Staten van Céline Boute - WaarBenJij.nu month of the holidays - Reisverslag uit Queen Creek, Verenigde Staten van Céline Boute - WaarBenJij.nu

month of the holidays

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Céline

05 Januari 2014 | Verenigde Staten, Queen Creek

I hope everyone is doing well and are ready to start school again tomorrow, just like me.
December always is a busy month with ending the first semester and of course all the holidays to prepare for.

Last week of school I had my finals. I was very nervous just because you want to do good and I didn't really know what to expect. I had a really bad cold that week so that did not help, but everything was much easier than I thought so I was really happy about that.
Because the last week were finals the week before that we had the winter assembly and spirit week. It is always fun when we have spirit week, a lot of people dress up crazy and teachers as well which makes it even more fun.
In my yearbook class we did the game: secret santa. We picked a person in class and you had to buy a present for him/her. I got a super soft blanket and stuff to make hot chocolate.

We went to San Diego for a christmas party of my host dad's family, which was fun! We stayed at nana's place, she is my host mom's mother. It is always fun to meet everyone who is related to my family.
My host mom, IEC Paula and me went to a concert together. It was a country concert of Florida Georgia Line. A Country duo, 2 guys. You guys might know them of the song: Cruise with Nelly. It was a lot of fun and I loved to go there.

It was very strange that I wasn't home for christmas. But we made it great here in AZ! everybody came over for christmas eve and we all baked together for santa. We opened our first present, our PJ's. The next day it was christmas day. My sister woke me up at 6.30 am because it was time to open presents. I got some nice little presents. But the present I liked most was my personalized stocking. In the evening we went over to my aunt's house to eat with the whole family. I had a lovely time.

My exchange buddy from Holland, Laura, who lives 10 minutes away her family came over for vacation and I spent some time with them! I totally loved to see them, for me it felt like a little bit from home. We went to a really nice restaurant, and they took me to go shopping. And I had my first smores! They're so good, I'm totally going to share this with my family and friends back home!
And of course New Years eve, I did my own fireworks for the first time! But they weren't the big ones because this is not allowed in AZ. There is to much danger for fire. I never knew this so I thought it was really interesting.

A lot of things changed in my house here in Arizona. The girl from Norway no longer lives with us. But I have a new host brother from Taiwan. He is also 18 and he's very nice. And I'm sharing my room with a girl from South Korea for a little bit, 'till she gets her permanent host family.

Happy New Year to everyone. I hope you all have a wonderful year, make it great in 2014.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigde Staten, Queen Creek

My High School year

Hi everyone,

Dit is de eerste pagina in mijn digitale dagboek en waarschijnlijk ook
gelijk de laatste in het nederlands.
Het is bijna zover, dinsdag de 23e van juli ga ik voor ongeveer 11 maanden naar een Amerikaanse High School in de staat Arizona.

Allereerst ga ik 10 dagen naar Norwich camp in Vermont, ongeveer 3 uur rijden van Boston. Dit is een kamp waar de exchange students van over de hele wereld, die ook met de organisatie EF gaan, elkaar kunnen leren kennen. Hier bereiden wij ons alvast een beetje voor op het jaar wat ons allemaal staat te wachten.

Vervolgens zal ik de 3e van Augustus reizen naar mijn hostfamily in Queen Creek, Arizona. Ik heb ontzettend veel zin om mijn gastgezin te ontmoeten waar ik nu al ongeveer een half jaar contact mee heb. Het gezin bestaat uit de ouders, beide nog jong, en 3 kinderen. Ze hebben 2 jongens en een meisje.
Ik zal naar Queen Creek High gaan en ben erg benieuwd hoe alles op een Amerikaanse school is. Natuurlijk denk je als eerst aan de football teams, cheerleaders, grote 'kluisjes' en eten op school zoals in alle films weer terugkomt, maar of dit ook echt allemaal op die manier zo is? Jullie krijgen het zeker van mij te horen :)

Ik ben echt ontzettend zenuwachtig, mijn allereerste grote reis, ver en alleen. Mijn familie, vrienden en vriendinnetjes zal ik erg gaan missen. Maar ik zal er een levenervaring aan overhouden dus ik heb er ook erg veel zin in!

Tot mijn volgende verslag vanuit de United States,
Hugs

Recente Reisverslagen:

03 Maart 2014

Lovin' it

05 Januari 2014

month of the holidays

04 December 2013

November, thanksgiving month

31 Oktober 2013

October

02 Oktober 2013

'MERICA
Céline

My name is Céline, a dutch girl. I'll spent the year 2013-2014 in the U.S. I was born in Rotterdam but now I live in Barendrecht. But my new hometown is Queen Creek in Arizona.

Actief sinds 19 Juli 2013
Verslag gelezen: 259
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6415

Voorgaande reizen:

23 Juli 2013 - 01 Juni 2014

My High School year

Landen bezocht: