November, thanksgiving month - Reisverslag uit Queen Creek, Verenigde Staten van Céline Boute - WaarBenJij.nu November, thanksgiving month - Reisverslag uit Queen Creek, Verenigde Staten van Céline Boute - WaarBenJij.nu

November, thanksgiving month

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Céline

04 December 2013 | Verenigde Staten, Queen Creek

Hello awesome friends and family,

Another month passed, time is flying by. And a lot happend in November.
I already told y'all that my school is really into sports and so they do everything to win. Our football team made it to State. This means that they won almost all their games to go to the finals of the Arizona high schools and then they play in the big college stadium.
It was a great experience to go to a big stadium and see your own team play, to bad my Queen Creek bulldogs didn't win the State game but we are still second place, so I'm proud to be a QC Bulldog!

Talking about sports, i tried out for the school's soccer team, but of course they cut us again because we are not good enough. That's a big thing that sucks about being in such an athletic school, the chance of being part of an American school sports team is not big.

And it was finally time for the California trip. It was a 4 days trip to L.A. and surrounding areas. It's a trip orginized for the Exchange students from EF in Arizona. The group was a lot of fun and I made a lot of new friends. The first night when we arrived we went to a dinner place called Medievel Times. You got food while they were doing a big show. The next day we went to Venice Beach, Hollywood and a market place which was really cute because it was all decorated for christmas already. The third day it was time for Disneyland, and Disney adventures. Of course it was awesome because Disney is a magical and happiest place on earth. We had a lot of fun and it was a great day with everyone.
The last day we had to pack up again, (my roommates were from Spain, Denmark and Germany) but before we made our trip home we went to Magic Mountain or a.k.a Six flags California. They had some crazy rollercoasters but I had a nice time.

The next week my hostmom had to go to Washington DC. for her work so I had to take over her mommy stuff which means I was cruising the American roads because I had to take my host siblings to places :)
On sunday she came back with news, I was getting a new hostsister from Norway, her name is Nora and she came over from Idaho. That week it was the end of November already and that means it's Thanksgiving!
This was such an amazing American experience, family from both sides of my hostparents came over to our house and we made a lot of food. We made the big Turkey and I had my first pumpkin pie! It is a big holiday here where you spent time with your family. I loved it, had a great time.

Last saturday we had a Bridal shower for a really good friend of my hostmom, we decorated the house and someone else made a dress out of cupcakes which was really nice. She is getting married on the 4th of January so I'm looking forward for my first American wedding :)

Tomorrow it's 'Sinterklaas' and I wish I was there to celebrate it and eat a lot of 'pepernoten en chocolade letters' but here we are focusing on Christmas. We took out the tree and decorated it and the whole house, the stockings are hanging above the fire place and I'm really excited to celebrate this with my American family!
Have fun everyone tomorrow, and hopefully you were all nice so you will get some beautiful presents.

With love,
a dutch american

  • 04 Januari 2014 - 14:24

    Abw:

    what brings december?

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigde Staten, Queen Creek

My High School year

Hi everyone,

Dit is de eerste pagina in mijn digitale dagboek en waarschijnlijk ook
gelijk de laatste in het nederlands.
Het is bijna zover, dinsdag de 23e van juli ga ik voor ongeveer 11 maanden naar een Amerikaanse High School in de staat Arizona.

Allereerst ga ik 10 dagen naar Norwich camp in Vermont, ongeveer 3 uur rijden van Boston. Dit is een kamp waar de exchange students van over de hele wereld, die ook met de organisatie EF gaan, elkaar kunnen leren kennen. Hier bereiden wij ons alvast een beetje voor op het jaar wat ons allemaal staat te wachten.

Vervolgens zal ik de 3e van Augustus reizen naar mijn hostfamily in Queen Creek, Arizona. Ik heb ontzettend veel zin om mijn gastgezin te ontmoeten waar ik nu al ongeveer een half jaar contact mee heb. Het gezin bestaat uit de ouders, beide nog jong, en 3 kinderen. Ze hebben 2 jongens en een meisje.
Ik zal naar Queen Creek High gaan en ben erg benieuwd hoe alles op een Amerikaanse school is. Natuurlijk denk je als eerst aan de football teams, cheerleaders, grote 'kluisjes' en eten op school zoals in alle films weer terugkomt, maar of dit ook echt allemaal op die manier zo is? Jullie krijgen het zeker van mij te horen :)

Ik ben echt ontzettend zenuwachtig, mijn allereerste grote reis, ver en alleen. Mijn familie, vrienden en vriendinnetjes zal ik erg gaan missen. Maar ik zal er een levenervaring aan overhouden dus ik heb er ook erg veel zin in!

Tot mijn volgende verslag vanuit de United States,
Hugs

Recente Reisverslagen:

03 Maart 2014

Lovin' it

05 Januari 2014

month of the holidays

04 December 2013

November, thanksgiving month

31 Oktober 2013

October

02 Oktober 2013

'MERICA
Céline

My name is Céline, a dutch girl. I'll spent the year 2013-2014 in the U.S. I was born in Rotterdam but now I live in Barendrecht. But my new hometown is Queen Creek in Arizona.

Actief sinds 19 Juli 2013
Verslag gelezen: 292
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6412

Voorgaande reizen:

23 Juli 2013 - 01 Juni 2014

My High School year

Landen bezocht: